Home > News and Articles

COVID-19 level 4 closure

Back to article search
Ben Coleman
25-Mar-2020
Law Changes, People

In accordance with the New Zealand government’s directions our offices will be closed to the public from 4.30pm Tuesday 24th March 2020 with staff working from home as of midday Wednesday 25th March 2020 until the COVID-19 alert level 4 is lifted or it is safe to return to work.

If you require urgent legal advice during this time please telephone Ben Coleman on +64 21 431-180 benc@deanlaw.co.nz,  Emma Middlemass on +64 21 345-054 emmam@deanlaw.co.nz,  Wayne Todd on +64 21 355-079 waynet@deanlaw.co.nz or Carol Robertson on +64 21 194-9938 carolr@deanlaw.co.nz.

For conduct of current files during the closure period please contact our solicitors on the numbers/emails above or our legal executives Joy Keen joyk@deanlaw.co.nz, Nikki Canham nikkic@deanlaw.co.nz, Mandy Willocks mandyw@deanlaw.co.nz and Adele Herron adeleh@deanlaw.co.nz.           

For any other enquiries contact our General Manager Jan Stringer on +64 21 478-074 jans@deanlaw.co.nz.

If you have a transactional matter with an important date (ie – a confirmation or settlement date) which falls during the closure period we will seek your instructions to reschedule that date until at least ten (10) working days following the reduction of the alert level (or by agreement between the parties). In the deferment of transactions we are guided by the recommendations of the NZ Law Society’s Property section.

In terms of court matters; in the District Court in-person attendances may be required in some cases. Where court attendance is unavoidable, the safety of the public, court staff and members of the legal profession is paramount.  The Ministry of Justice has introduced measures to achieve physical distance and to improve courthouse hygiene. We will contact you regarding how to proceed with your matter if it is scheduled during the closure period.

We will continue to monitor emails throughout the closure period with lawyers and legal executives working from home on current files, prioritising urgent work.

The closure period has been enforced by the government to promote public safety and the health of our community is paramount. Thank you for your patience and understanding during this time.

Be kind and be safe.